What an extraordinary time to
be a corporate director.

It is a role that is more demanding than ever. The accelerating pace of change, sheer volume of emerging issues and associated complexity present both challenges and opportunities. For directors who are curious and thrive on challenge, outcomes, continuous learning and development, it can be highly rewarding. There are a number who are masters at the role, eager to support others in achieving that pinnacle of performance. They understand that to be successful in business you must contribute to your profession, industry and community.

What if we identified what high-performing boards across different sectors are doing differently?

If we understood what contributes to their success, we could share that with senior Canadian business leaders. Discussions could then lead to next-wave thinking and ideas set to become new governance standards.

Lambay Group launched The Initiative to do just that.

We conducted in-depth interviews with more than 30 of Canada’s leading board chairs and consulted select executives. In 50+ hours of interviews and discussions, we discussed emerging governance priorities and how they are responding to the challenges of the day. All industry sectors were represented, along with Regulators and Government Institutions.

Their insights proved invaluable.

So much so, we’ve published them. High Performance in the Boardroom is an exclusive report on contemporary best practices of high-performing boards in a time of accelerating change.

The group of extraordinary board chairs who generously shared their leadership experiences and candid insights on how they navigate change.

Bill Anderson
Chair of Sun Life Financial
Director of Gilden Activewear

Bob Bell
Former Deputy Minister of Health Ontario
Prior CEO of University Health Network

Rahul Bhardwaj
President and Chief Executive Officer of Institute of Corporate Directors
Former Chair, Community Foundations of Canada and the 2012 Ontario Games
Director of Rideau Hall Foundation and previously Metrolinx

Ian Bourne
Former Chair of Ballard Power and SNC Lavalin
Director of Canadian Public Accountability Board (CPAB)

John Cassaday
Chair of Manulife Financial and St Michael’s Hospital Foundation;
Director of Irving Oil Ltd., Sleep Country Canada Holdings Inc. and Sysco Corporation

James Cherry
Director of Logistec Corporation, Cogeco Inc., Conference Board of Canada
Former CEO of Aéroports de Montréal

Isabelle Courville
Chair of Canadian Pacific and former Chair of Laurentian Bank
Director of SNC Lavalin and Veolia Environnement S.A.

Bryan Davies
Chair of the Financial Services Regulatory Authority of Ontario (FSRA) and former Chair of the Canada Deposit Insurance Corporation
Director of MetroLinx

Brenda Eprile
Former Chair of Westport Fuel Systems and Home Capital Corporation
Director of Atlantica Sustainable Infrastructure plc., Olympia Financial Group Inc., Olympia Trust Company and Canvas GFX

Karen Farbridge
Chair of Meridian Credit Union and Motusbank
Director of QUEST and Silence

Rob Goodwill
Chair of Gay Lea Foods Co-Operative

Bill Hatanaka
Chair of Ontario Health
Director of Invesco Canada and ICE NGx

Linda Hohol
Chair of the Institute of Corporate Directors (ICD)
Director of Canadian Western Bank and NAV Canada
Former President, TSX Venture Exchange

Tim Hodgson
Chair of Hydro One and Sagicor Financial Corporation Limited
Director of the Public Sector Pension Investment Board (PSP Investments)

Mark Hughes
Chair of the Global Risk Institute (GRI)
Director of UBS Global

Goldy Hyder
President and CEO of the Business Council of Canada

Roberta Jamieson
President and CEO of Indspire
Director of Deloitte Canada Board

Tom Jenkins
Chair of OpenText

Maureen Jensen
Former Chair and CEO of the Ontario Securities Commission (OSC)
Director of Franco-Nevada Corp.

Colleen Johnston
Chair of Unity Health Toronto
Director on the Boards of Shopify, McCain Foods, Private Debt Partners Inc. and Q4

Hal Kvisle
Chair of ARC Resources and Finning
Director of Cenovus Energy
Former CEO of TransCanada and Talisman Energy

David Lever
Chair of McCarthy Tétrault, Canada (Board of Partners)

Norm Loberg
Chair of Alectra Inc.

Don Lowry
Chair of Capital Power and former Chair of Canadian Electricity Association
Director of Stantec Inc., Melcore Real Estate Investment Trust (REIT) and Canada Water Networks

Hon. John Manley
Chair of CIBC and CAE
Director of Telus
Senior Member of Prime Minister Jean Chrétien’s cabinet from 1993 to 2003

Eileen Mercier
Chair of the Canadian Payments Association
Former Chair of the Ontario Teachers’ Pension Plan
Director of Intact Financial Corporation and the Royal Conservatory of Music

Raymond Mikulich
Chair of the Altus Group and Ridgeline Capital Group
Director of Colony Capital Inc.

Ellen Pekeles
Former Chair of Mountain Equipment Co‑Op (MEC)
Director of Canuck Place Children’s Hospice

Katharine (Kate) Stevenson
Former Chair, Bishop Strachan School
Director of CIBC, OpenText and Capital Power

Barbara (Barb) Stymiest
Chair of the Canadian Institute for Advanced Research
Former Chair of Blackberry
Director of Sun Life, Blackberry and Weston

Kathleen (Katie) Taylor
Chair of Royal Bank of Canada, Atlas Partners LLP and SickKids Foundation
Director of the Canada Pension Plan Investment Board (CPPIB)

Paul Tsaparis
Chair of the Board of Governors at York University
Director of Ontario Health, Metrolinx, Teranet and Indspire

Tom Woods
Former Chair of Unity Health Toronto and Hydro One
Director of Bank of America and Alberta Investment Management Corporation

Bill Young
Chair of Magna International and SNC Lavalin
Director of Intact Financial and the Canadian Institute for Advanced Research (CIFAR)